Home » Uncategorized » James Bond—have you heard of him?

James Bond—have you heard of him?

bond
I have been getting razzed lately by some of my film loving friends regarding what has been considered to be my cinematic blind spot. Until this past March 2013 I have never seen any of the 23 James Bond movies. Not one! I never saw Sean Connery play Bond, never saw Ursula Andress on the beach in her little bikini and sheath. I never went to the theatre in my youth to see Grace Jones and Roger Moore battle and jam to the musical stylings of Duran Duran and more recently I haven’t even seen the latest chapters, Quantum of Solace or Skyfall.

I do not turn my nose up to “spy” movies. I have enjoyed many other films in the genre. I liked Robert Redford in The Three Days of the Condor and Fred Zinnemann’s film from 1973 The Day of the Jackal but until March my reaction to watching a Bond movie…any Bond movie was, “Meh”.

We decided to take the plunge, and watch all 23 Bond movies. We decided to watch them in Chronological order. Last night we saw George Lazenby try his hand playing the British Spy in On Her Majesty’s Secret Service and in a few weeks Diamonds are Forever will pop up on our Netflix queue and we will get the chance to see Sean Connery reprise the Bond role. In the meantime, I will continue to enjoy the Gangster flicks, the Westerns and the little known Film Noir piece and hopefully by the time the 24th Bond film hits theatres in 2014 I will have joined the rest of the Bond loving world in the 21st century. And when one moves me to the point of blogging…I will share it here.

Leave a Reply

1dtm

1dtm

I am a Married Father of two boys. I fell in love with Classic Movies ten years ago. My perfect evening is a glass of wine on my couch with my wife while watching a classic movie that most people I know don't realize exists. Please follow along with me as I relive my old favorites and discover new ones.

View Full Profile →

