Home » Uncategorized » Memorial Day Movies

Memorial Day Movies

american-flag-2a

Good morning and Happy Memorial Day. Memorial Day is my favorite holiday for movie watching. There are scores of great movies to view during this weekend every year and I could never list them but here a few favorites.

I am sure you have all seen Saving Private Ryan starring Tom Hanks and Matt Damon but I wanted to take up a few words to introduce or re-introduce some of the less heralded or forgotten Memorial Day favorites. Check your local listingsBattleground-1949 features Van Johnson and Ricardo Montalban and follows the 101st airborne during the Siege of Bastogne. The Guns of Navarone-1961 stars Gregory Peck, David Niven and Anthony Quinn who lead a commando team against an impregnable German gun fortress overlooking the Aegean Sea. Most of these movies are true stories or at least based on true events with a little Hollywood story telling magic sprinkled in. Other films are all Hollywood magic. The Bridge on the River Kwai stars William Holden and Sir Alec Guinness. The Bridge on the River Kwai-1957 a fictional account of the building of the Burma Railway in 1942-43. Alec Guinness is a POW commander who wants to complete a bridge that William Holden, who plays an escaped POW turned commando, is determined to blow up. Where Eagles Dare starring Richard Burton and Clint Eastwood is a 1968 classic. Eastwood and Burton play commandos who infiltrate a German mountain fortress to save a Brigadier General who was taken there for interigation. Sergeant York is a 1941 biographical film of Alvin York played by Gary Cooper, a “Tennessee Hillbilly”, conscientious objector and Medal of Honor winner who takes 130 German prisoners during the Meuse-Argonne offensive during World War I.

There are so many stories provided to us by the brave men and women of our military that I could spend all day listing them all here. I won’t, but please be sure to check back as I will post about them each individually, here. Happy Memorial Day and thank you to all those who have served.

Leave a Reply

1dtm

1dtm

I am a Married Father of two boys. I fell in love with Classic Movies ten years ago. My perfect evening is a glass of wine on my couch with my wife while watching a classic movie that most people I know don't realize exists. Please follow along with me as I relive my old favorites and discover new ones.

View Full Profile →

