Home » 40's Movies » The Treasure of the Sierra Madre-1948

The Treasure of the Sierra Madre-1948

Treasuremadre
“Badges? We ain’t got no badges! We don’t need no badges! I don’t have to show you any stinking badges!” You know the quote…have you seen the movie? If you haven’t, you should. Don’t be afraid because it was shot in black and white and was released in the late 1940’s. The Treasure of the Sierra Madre is a great movie. It is one of my favorites but please don’t take my word for it, check it our for yourself. It popped up last night on Turner Classic Movie channel at 8pm and it eased me comfortably into the next work week.
The movie poster reads “They sold their souls for….The Treasure of the Sierra Madre. Humphrey Bogart “Dobbs” and Tim Holt “Curtin” play two penniless Americans pan-handling in Mexico during the 1920’s who after meeting a peculiar old-timer, played by director John Houston’s father Walter, decide to put in together and mine for Gold in the mountains. The old-timer turns out to be the most skilled of the three at surviving in the elements and is the one responsible for discovering the Gold. They build a mine and begin to sack up their Booty or “Goods” as they like to call it. As time goes by Dobb played by Bogart begins to mentally unravel. He thinks Howard and Curtin plan on killing him to steal his share of the “goods” while simultaneously coveting their “goods” for himself. They successfully escape a bandit attack and decide to return to civilization with all of the gold dust that they have discovered. The old man, Howard, leaves to nurse a sick Indian boy and entrusts his “goods” to a deteriorating Dobbs and Curtin for the trek back to town. I can’t bring myself to ruin the end of the movie but Howard and Curtin literally have the last laugh.

Leave a Reply

1dtm

1dtm

I am a Married Father of two boys. I fell in love with Classic Movies ten years ago. My perfect evening is a glass of wine on my couch with my wife while watching a classic movie that most people I know don't realize exists. Please follow along with me as I relive my old favorites and discover new ones.

View Full Profile →

